2019 Hayek Lifetime Achievement Award

Tom Woods | USA

Thomas E. Woods, Jr. (United States), is a senior fellow of the Mises Institute and host of The Tom Woods Show, which releases a new episode every weekday. He holds a bachelor’s degree in history from Harvard and his master’s, M.Phil., and Ph.D. from Columbia University.

Tom is the author of twelve books, most recently Real Dissent: A Libertarian Sets Fire to the Index Card of Allowable Opinion, Rollback: Repealing Big Government Before the Coming Fiscal Collapse and Nullification: How to Resist Federal Tyranny in the 21st Century.

His other books include the New York Times bestsellers Meltdown: A Free-Market Look at Why the Stock Market Collapsed, the Economy Tanked, and Government Bailouts Will Make Things Worse and The Politically Incorrect Guide to American History. His critically acclaimed book The Church Confronts Modernity was released in paperback by Columbia University Press in 2007.

Woods has appeared on CNBC, MSNBC, FOX News Channel, FOX Business Network, C-SPAN, and Bloomberg Television, among other outlets, and has been a guest on hundreds of radio programs, including National Public Radio, the Dennis Miller Show, the Michael Reagan Show, the Dennis Prager Show, and the Michael Medved Show.

The Hayek Lifetime Achievement Award

Each year, the Hayek Lifetime Achievement Award honours an outstanding economist, business leader, or writer of our times whose work and lifetime achievements best exemplify the principles of freedom and free enterprise represented by Friedrich A. v. Hayek and the Austrian School of Economics.

The Award’s Recipients List:

  • Gloria Álvarez (2018) for introducing a new generation to the classical liberal thinking and for promoting the cause of freedom and responsibility.
  • Dr. Richard W. Rahn (2018) for decades of tirelessly promoting sound economic policy and for sharing his wisdom with the global community of freedom-loving individuals.
  • Dr. Arthur Laffer (2016) in recognition of his lifetime contributions in his fight against high taxation.
  • Peter Thiel (2015) successful technology entrepreneur and philanthropist having demonstrated the innovative spirit that F.A. v. Hayek considered a precondition for human advancement.
  • Prof. Dr. Deirdre McCloskey (2014) in recognition of her rich and pugnacious publications and in defense of our moral values.
  • Dr. Dambisa Moyo (2013) in recognition of her prolific writings and courageous media presence not only in the US but worldwide.
  • Prof. Leonhard Liggio (2013) in recognition of his efforts to share the best of the great classical liberal synthesis to change the world for the better.
  • Prof. Dr. Niall Ferguson (2012) in recognition of his outstanding contributions in defense of individual liberty and economic freedom.
  • Mario Vargas Llosa (2011) in recognition of his writings on behalf of liberty. He received the Nobel Prize in Literature in 2010.

Recipients of the Hayek Lifetime Achievement Award are selected each year by a blue-ribbon awards committee including members of the board both of the Hayek Institute and Austrian Economics Center in consultation with leading Austrian School economists and economic historians, business leaders, and public intellectuals in making their decision.